Vote at LESC today

Barbados’ Houses of Parliament will today lay the stepping stones to this country becoming a republic and having its first local head of state.

The House of Assembly, made up of 30 Members of Parliament, and the Senate, comprising 21 senators, will as a collective vote on the recommendation of Governor General Dame Sandra Mason becoming the island’s first President on November 30, Independence Day, which will officially end Queen Elizabeth II’s tenure as head of state.

The special session will be held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre at 10 a.m.

It has been chosen because the Parliament Buildings in Bridgetown are still undergoing repairs due to a number of environmental issues and will not be ready until next year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *