Professor Lalor heads list of national awards recipients today

THE nation’s third highest honour, the Order of Merit (OM), will be bestowed on Professor Gerald Cecil Lalor today, National Heroes’ Day.

This eminent scientist will head the list of 215 people to be honoured at the Ceremony of Investiture and Presentation of National Honours and Awards, which will be held on the lawns of King’s House.

Professor Lalor will be recognised for his contribution to Jamaica and the world’s development through the application of science, technology and innovation, and service to the public and private sectors.

Meanwhile, four people will be appointed as members of the Order of Jamaica (OJ). They are Dr Julius Winston Garvey, for distinguished contribution to universal civil activism and promotion of entrepreneurship and the legacy of Garveyism and pan-Africanism; Robert Earle Levy, for outstanding service to the agriculture sector and philanthropy; Dr Alferita Constantia “Rita” Marley, for outstanding contribution to the popularisation of Jamaican music and Brand Jamaica, and for humanitarian work through the Rita Marley Foundation; and Robert Dixon Pickersgill, for public service and political representation.

In addition, 41 poeple will be invested with the Order of Distinction in the Rank of Commander and 40 individuals will join the Order of Distinction in the Rank of Officer for contribution in various fields.

The Badge of Honour for Gallantry will be bestowed on Tamar Delise Blake for an act of courage and bravery in ensuring the safe return of a stolen infant, and Suzan Elizabeth Foster for rescuing a police officer, who was hit from his motorcycle and transporting him to the hospital.

Twenty-three individuals will receive the Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service and 30 will receive the Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *