Soca Monarch lists semi-finalists

The list of Soca Monarch semi-finalists has been released and among them are Neil “Iwer” George and Dexter “Blaxx” Stewart.

Registration for the annual competition opened on January 21 and ended on January 25.

The list of the semi-finalists was e-mailed to media on Sunday. In the Power category, 16 semi-finalists were chosen and 23 for the Groovy category.

The semi-finals will take place on February 10 at the Arima Velodrome from 3 pm.

Last Friday, reigning Soca Monarch Aaron “Voice” St Louis announced he will not be defending his crown. He said in a release that he had new goals now, and “competing is not one of them.” He added that his biggest goal now was “to do my part to have soca become a globally-recognised genre.”

The Soca Monarch finals will take place on March 1 at the Queen’s Park Savannah.