Guadeloupe formally joins the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States

The Caribbean island of Guadeloupe – an overseas Department of France, has formally joined the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) – a regional grouping comprising the independent and non independent countries of Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia,  St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla and Martinique.

The Ceremony officiating Guadeloupe as an Associate Member of the Organisation took place in Basse Terre, Guadeloupe on Thursday March 14th at 5 p.m. at the University des Antilles, Basse-Terre.

OECS Chairman and Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Dr. The Hon Ralph Gonsalves said the accession of the French Territory was a momentous occasion in the life of the OECS and in furtherance of the deepening and broadening of the regional integration of small Eastern Caribbean islands.